SALASUSU Story

SALASUSU 是深耕在柬埔寨超過十年的日本社會企業,我們透過手作編織培訓柬埔寨年輕婦女專業技能,提供工作機會,同時也在社區學校以生活技能課程充權(empower)婦女,包括如何建立自信、解決衝突、職涯規劃等,培養柬埔寨當地女性獨立自主能力,使其手上握有更多選擇,追求更好的未來​。

組織成立於2004年,並在2006年時在位於暹粒市區35公里外的Kchass村莊成立了社區工廠,這這邊提供專業及生活技能的訓練,進而提升每一位手作者的軟實力。我們與當地政府組織和社區合作,協助來自赤貧家庭並介於16-24歲的婦女加入我們的兩年畢業計畫,在這裡不只提供兩年的專業培訓、給予能使婦女們有穩定足以支撐家庭的收入也增加了社會支持系統,讓前來工作的婦女能夠免於憂心交通、膳食以及孩童照顧的問題。


而從2016年開始,我們也將在柬埔寨深耕超過10年的經驗濃縮成一套專業的課程,藉此能夠培訓更多的NGO人員,同時也與柬埔寨政府合作,將我們成功的訓練模式帶進更多的工作場合中,分享我們所學習到的知識。不僅如此,我們在2016年時透過外交單位與柬埔寨當地的勞動、職業培訓局合作提供基本能力技能,協助青年增進自身能力並成功得到穩定且有品質的工作。並於2017年時與勞動部合作,進行職業訓練相關的合作。

我們發展了三個品牌,包括柬埔寨限定的紀念品品牌I Love Cambodia、繽紛假期系列Holiday By SALASUSU和簡約旅行風格的SALASUSU!

 
 
Kenta Aoki/ SALASUSU共同創辦人

一切要從我19歲那一年開始說起、當時我與其他兩位夥伴 Sayaka Murata 和 Keisuke Motoki 在一個學生社團內做研究,我們發現在柬埔寨人口販賣情況非常嚴重,於是我們決定著手解決這個問題。一開始我認為此項計畫的運作不會超過三年;但是在過程中,我深深被人口販賣議題以及社會企業概念所吸引,於是我離開大學,決定全心全意投入在此項計畫上;此項計畫終於在2004年起飛,我們於柬埔寨開設辦公室並開始提供電腦課程教育給當地孤兒院 兒童。在當地付出相當多的時間與心力後,我們與當地人建立起信任也了解當地社區的需求。於是在2006年,我們在暹粒創辦社區工廠。

最初是年輕的熱血衝動促使我前往柬埔寨;儘管如此,最大的動力其實是來自當我看到當地人在接受幫助後,得以繼續實現他們的夢想,是因為那份感動,驅使我繼續往前。 在很多年前,我的姐姐被診斷出了嚴重的疾病,因為這個疾病,她必須待在醫院,不能工作或者做她想做的事情。每一次我去探望她,我都不禁感到沮喪。我看到的是一個漂亮的靈魂,卻被限制於她的身體內,而疾病也殘酷地剝奪她所有的夢想。我看到的是無法完成自身夢想的絕望。

於是我不想讓其他人也遇到同樣的事情,我們值得擁有機會去改變。當時我下定決心,我要盡我的全力,賦予需要的人們獨立自主的機會以及幫助他們完成夢想。 我始終相信大部分沒有完成夢想的人,是因為沒有被賦予同等的機會,一旦他們擁有資源以及幫助,他們的表現會跟其他人一樣的好,甚至更好!

Nanako Kameyama

社會充權部門 經理

在我15歲失去我的朋友後,我便決定了我的職涯。 當時的我,面對朋友的驟逝讓我體會到了生命的無常以及它的重要性。而同時,我接觸到了一些社會議題,發現到原來在這個世界的其他角落,還有這麼多的生命個體正飽受戰爭、貧窮或是各種風險所苦,甚至有些的問題是被我們人類所創造出來的。因此,我決定要投入這個領域中,我希望能夠盡我的一份心力來讓這個世界能夠變得更好,與我的夥伴一起創造一個能夠讓人感到快樂、能夠享受生命的地方。

當我還在就讀大學時,我便在Kamonohashi Project (SALASUSU前母計畫)擔任實習生四年。我投入了我的心力在調查有關柬埔寨兒童性剝削的議題,每一次我都認為,就算只有一點點的機會能夠改變這個社會,我也會堅持下去。而在大學畢業後,我便直接前往柬埔寨,開始了這一項專案。

現在,我在SALASUSU中擔任社會充權部門的經理,藉由與我們的團隊發展實務性課程,提供創新的生活技能培訓給柬埔寨當地的年輕世代。我們的目標是能夠讓所有的學員能夠握有自己人生的操控權,進而活出每一個獨一無二的生活樣態。儘管在柬埔寨的社會中,依舊有很多年輕族群因為家庭因素無法接受完整的國民教育。但我相信每一個人都有潛力也都有這個能力能夠開啟屬於自己的未來。

Yuri Yokoyama

行銷部門經理/品牌形象負責人(駐日本)

在團隊中,我的任務是要開發日本市場,將SALASUSU的理念傳遞給日本社會大眾,同時尋找合作行銷機會。在市場開拓的初期,一切都非常的不容易,但面對這樣的情況,我充滿動力,希望能將一切帶領的更好!我非常享受和夥伴還有手作者一起工作的每一分每秒,尤其是在那個總是充滿歡笑的社區工廠中,看見彼此一起努力的樣子!我總是受到手作者們的啟發,他們的生活態度在我無論在工作上或生活上遇到困難的時候,一直提醒著我要面對眼前的所有挑戰,永不放棄!

Soung Vuthik

產品生產部門經理

在團隊中,我的任務是要管理整個產品生產的部門,包括商品以及我們的手作者。同於與產品設計師一同合作,將更多好品質、好設計的產品帶到消費者面前。 在工作中,我同時也是手作者與部門夥伴的溝通橋樑,而這份職務同時也帶給我很多挑戰,尤其是要教導來在柬埔寨鄉村的婦女,慢慢的培訓他們擁有專業技術來製作高品質商品的過程。儘管如此,我依舊非常喜歡我們的團隊,也十分喜歡SALASUSU的產品形象。 我非常謝謝團隊帶給柬埔寨的影響力,而我也真正看到了這個社區一直在進步、改變中。 歡迎大家一起加入SALASUSU這個大家庭!!

Sor Chhoy​

產品生產部門副經理

在團隊中,我的任務是要協助管理我們的兩大品牌:SALASUSU以及I love Camboida,我主要負責品質管控和解決任何突發性的問題,我真的非常欣賞整個生產部門的手作者們與SALASUSU全體同仁,我們總是能再好的工作氛圍下一起為著柬埔寨鄉村婦女努力!並透過教導專業的手作技術來提升生活技能。 非常謝謝大家對我們的支持和喜愛! 一起SUSU(加油)吧!

Thank you for your support ! 

Our Donors:

Japan international

cooperation agency

Japan international

cooperation foundation

ASIA GROUP

THE AJINOMOTO FOUNDATION

MS&AD Insurance Group Holdings

Our Partners:

People Focus Consulting 

Kru Khmer 

 
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • TripAdvisor - White Circle
facebook-placeholder-for-locate-places-o
email-filled-closed-envelope.png
call-answer.png
​Wat Damnak Village,
Sangkat Salakamroeuk,  
Reap, Cambodia
info-cam@salasusu.com
+855 (0)63 967 896
Copyright @SALASUSU 2018 All rights reserved.

SALASUSU Story

SALASUSU is a Japanes social enterprise based in Cambodia for over 10 years and dedicated to improving the lives of young Cambodians. Our mission is to empower young people to gain the life skills they need through training or ethical manufacturing, paving the way for a bright future.

Our organization has been in operation since 2004. We established our Community Factory in Kchass Village, 35km outside of Siem Reap in 2006. Here we provide both vocational and life skills training, dedicating a portion of each day to developing our producer’s soft skills. We cooperate with local authorities and the community to identify 16-24-year-old women from the most vulnerable social and economic backgrounds, and invite them to join a two- year training program with us. During this time they learn vocational skills and earn enough income to support their families. We remove the barriers to them coming to work by providing child care, free lunch, transport and a variety of other benefits.
 

In 2016 we began offering our Life Skills Training services outside of our factory to companies, NGOs and the Cambodian government. Through years of experience, we have developed a successful training model that can create better workplaces. We provide innovative and proven basic competency (life skills) training to increase young people’s ability to seek and sustain quality employment. We entered into Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation in 2016 and with the Ministry of Labour and Vocational Training in 2017.


We currently produce 3 brands! ‘I Love Cambodia’, our souvenir brand, ‘SUSU’ our ethical fashion brand and SALASUSU our premium fashion line.

 
 
Kenta Aoki/Co-Founder

It all started when I was 19. I was in a student club doing research with two other university students, Sayaka Murata and Keisuke Motoki. We found that human trafficking was a serious issue in Cambodia, and decided to jump right in. At first, I thought the project would be done in no more than three years; however, I became so engaged in the issues of human trafficking and social enterprise that I dropped out of school and dedicated myself fully to the project. The journey truly took off in 2004 when we opened an office in Cambodia and began holding computer classes for children living in orphanages. After spending time establishing relationships on the ground and understanding the needs of vulnerable communities, we built a factory in Siem Reap in 2006.

It was the impulse to make changes that drove me to Cambodia in the beginning; nevertheless, it was seeing people unable to fulfill their own dreams after receiving help that motivates me to continue working in this field. Many years ago, my older sister was diagnosed with a serious disease. Because of the disease, she has to stay in the hospital and cannot work or do things that she used to do. Every time I visit her, I cannot help but feel depressed. I see a beautiful soul confined in her body, and the illness has cruelly deprived her of all her dreams. I see the helplessness of not being able to accomplish the things that one longs to do. Therefore, I don’t want that happen to any others who should have opportunities to change. I want to do as much as I can to give these people a chance to be independent and achieve their dreams. I believe that people who are not able to fulfill their dreams are often the ones not given chances. Once they have received help and resources, they would perform as well as others.

Nanako Kameyama

Senior Manager of Social Empowerment Department

I decided my career when I lost one of my friends when I was 15 years old. I was so shocked and it made me realize the importance of life. At the same time, I was upset that there were still places in the world where human lives are far too often affected by conflict, poverty, and any social risks; problems often made by human beings.I was strongly determined to contribute to remove these problems to make the world better, and help to create a place where all human beings can enjoy their own life journey.

 

While studying at university, I started to get involved with the Kamonohashi Project NGO (original NGO's name) as an intern for about four years. I devoted my energy to researching child sexual exploitation in Cambodia. I could feel the possibility of change in the world, but I knew it would take persistent work. When I graduated from university, I decided to come to Cambodia to work directly on the project site.

 

Currently, I am working as a senior manager of the School Division. Through developing practical and innovative life skills training programs with our high-aspiration trainers for the young generation of Cambodians, we aim for all people to be able to enjoy their own lives and control their own futures. Even though there are still many youths in Cambodia who lack the opportunity of even primary education, or face the difficult family situation, I believe that all of them have the ability to fulfill their potential to open up their bright futures.

Yuri Yokoyama

Senior S&M Department Manager / Sales Manager in Japan

My mission is to explore the Japanese market, looking for sales opportunities, in order to spread the message of SALASUSU in Japan. It is not easy to start from the beginning, and even though the path isn't clear, I am so excited to find a way. I love working with our team and producers, who always work happily in our community factory and are satisfied with their lives. They constantly inspire me to overcome any difficulties and challenges I face both at work and in my personal life.

Soung Vuthik

Senior Production Manager

My mission is to manage our production team smoothly--both the products and the producers. Also, I cooperate with our designer to make new products or improve current products. I work on capacity building for our staff and producers. It can be really challenging for me to train Cambodian women in rural areas to create the high-quality products with natural materials. However, we have made a lot of social impacts and improved the community through our program. I love working here because we have a good team and a good product image. I appreciate the support we get. Please join our SALASUSU community!!!

Sor Chhoy​

Deputy Production Manager

I am in charge of the production operation of both brands, SUSU and I Love Cambodia. I manage quality control and solve any problems that arise. I really appreciate that all of my PRD team and all SALASUSU’s colleagues are in a good cooperation and communication with each other. We work smoothly and happily with young women from rural areas, teaching them “life skills” through handicraft manufacturing. Thank you for your support and let's SUSU together!

Thank you for your support ! 

Our Donors:

Japan international

cooperation agency

Japan international

cooperation foundation

ASIA GROUP

THE AJINOMOTO FOUNDATION

MS&AD Insurance Group Holdings

Our Partners:

People Focus Consulting 

Kru Khmer 

 
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • TripAdvisor - White Circle
facebook-placeholder-for-locate-places-o
email-filled-closed-envelope.png
call-answer.png
​Wat Damnak Village,
Sangkat Salakamroeuk,  
Reap, Cambodia
info-cam@salasusu.com
+855 (0)63 967 896
Copyright @SALASUSU 2018 All rights reserved.