​柬埔寨當地議題
49%

的柬埔寨總勞動力

未完成小學學業

80%

的老師在赤色高棉統治期間被殺害

78%

第一次尋找工作的柬埔寨人競爭力不足

根據 Cambodian Socio-Economic 調查,在2012年,49%的勞動力人口(年紀15-64歲)尚未或者未完成小學學歷,只有23.3% 的勞動力人口完成初中學歷。大量較低學歷的工作人口無疑是一個的問題,更會影響接下來數十年的就業市場。當地柬埔寨人因有限的資源以及較低個人意願,導致完成學業的人數較低。

再者,即使柬埔寨當地人接受傳統教育,在職場中,多數也因缺乏軟實力,難以在持續向上發展。要了解這個問題,我們必須回到1975-1979年,在赤色高棉統治下的柬埔寨,當時赤色高棉釀成了20世紀中最嚴重的大屠殺,據估計大約一百五十萬至三百萬柬埔寨人喪命於大屠殺,其中,近 80% 的老師被殺害,間接造成柬埔寨壯年以及老年人口教育程度較低。

 
被忽視的一群;偏鄉的年輕婦女

在鄉村地區,時常因為家庭因素,許多年輕婦女以及女孩被迫輟學,很早就得出來工作。根據UNESCO的調查,於 2012 年所有輟學生之中,94%為女性。這造成的不只是識字能力下降,更讓偏鄉婦女們缺乏基本軟實力,例如:較低的自信、不擅長解決問題、人際關係能力較弱等等。這些種種皆造成偏鄉婦女難以找到穩定工作。

 

鼓勵年輕一代上學和改善當地教育品質,是升級當地勞動力的最佳辦法,但是很不幸的,教育支出對柬埔寨當地家庭來說,還是太高了。即便不用繳交學雜費,父母仍要四處籌措資金,以購買制服教科書和文具;雪上加霜的是,許多家庭認為,如果小孩去上學的話,家中的收入便會大為減少,原因是小孩上學後便無法同時工作賺錢。也因此,平衡教育和財務問題是我們要解決的當務之急。我們首先專注於弱勢婦女,不單單只是提供工作機會,更提供一系列的軟實力技能課程,培養專業技能,以晉身未來更好的工作。

重中之重:軟實力技能

當大部分的柬埔寨當地人為財務問題困擾著,並對教育保持低意願的態度,這對一個國家長期發展來說,造成的阻力是非常大的。為了確保持續的進步,我們必須同時提供工作以及教育。當市民擁有工作並接受良好教育,國家勞動人口競爭力勢必有所成長。

儘管如此,柬埔寨當地尚未發展任何形式的軟實力技能培訓。對於「軟實力」,並沒有一個明確的定義,沒有一定的培訓方式,沒有培訓員訓練課程,更沒有關鍵績效指標(KPI)。儘管很多組織以及公司提供技職培訓,但其中很少會想到幫助其員工開發實用的軟實力技巧,例如:溝通技巧、個性建立和未來職涯輔導等等。大家同意軟實力是一項不可或缺的技能,但在柬埔寨,很少能實際執行軟實力的培訓。

 
 
我們的發展
10 years
+

10多年的當地調查和社區工廠經驗

60 kinds
+

開發並執行超過60項

的軟實力技能課程

8 trainers
+

超過8為培訓員接受並完成日本顧問公司的良好培訓

我們與柬埔寨當地關係

我們與當地緊密合作超過數10年,已於當地村落以及其他當地組織建立起信任。另外,於2006 年,SALASUSU 也很榮幸獲選進入了柬埔寨外交部的 Mamorandum of Understanding (MOU) 企業名單之一。於2017年也再次榮獲柬埔寨勞動局的認可殊榮。我們致力於透過教育,翻轉柬埔寨偏鄉的未來。

 

當我們於2008年建立社區工廠時,我們只有14位手作者,整個社區工廠是由竹子和棕梠葉搭建而成,內部只有幾張桌子和縫紉機,規模非常的小;也因為生產力不足,當時的月營收只有500美金。我們最大的困難是如何鼓勵當地婦女持續留在我們的社區工廠。有些婦女為了更高的薪水而選擇離開,離開後也因常常換工作而無法獲得穩定的收入。


為了解決這個困難,我們開始提供一系列不同的培訓,包括基礎柬文、財務管理、營養學課程和軟實力課程。同一時間,我們也大力改善產品品質、產品生產模式和設施。2011年,我們開設第一間直營店面,於2012年開設第二間。2016年,我們創立新的時尚品牌「SUSU」


在整合培訓課程之後,我們目前單單一天的營收就已經超過當時2008年一整個月的營收 我們的收入會回饋投資給軟實力技能培訓以及充權機會,讓我們的手作者不斷成長之餘,亦有穩定的收入支持自己以及其家人。


2018年3月,我們從日本總公司獨立出來,並創立我們新的組織與品牌「SALASUSU」

 

 

我們與日本顧問公司合作,培訓我們的軟實力技能培訓員。此外,在培訓員一路辛勤的栽培之下,短短六個月內,我們社區工廠的手作者婦女於軟實力技能方面有了大幅的提升,也看見培訓課程對手作者正面影響。

 

 

社區工廠歷史

持續開發軟實力技能培訓

我們已發展出可達到經濟自主以及肩負社會責任的永續方法,持續鼓勵柬埔寨年輕婦女開創自己的人生旅程。

SALASUSU深深地相信,理想要付諸實踐,必須透過調查、學習和不停地驗證。

且在過去十年間履行上述要點,持續支持柬埔寨當地婦女,投注資源於社會和組織

組織介紹

組織介紹

我們的使命

我們的使命

我們的社會影響力

我們的社會影響力

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • TripAdvisor - White Circle
facebook-placeholder-for-locate-places-o
email-filled-closed-envelope.png
call-answer.png
​Wat Damnak Village,
Sangkat Salakamroeuk,  
Reap, Cambodia
info-cam@salasusu.com
+855 (0)63 967 896
Copyright @SALASUSU 2018 All rights reserved.

The issue in Cambodia
49%

Labor force has not completed primary school

80%

of teachers were killed by the Khmer Rouge

78%

of Cambodian first-time job seekers are lack of basic competencies. 

According to the Cambodian Socio-Economic Survey (CSES) in 2012 49% of the labor force (aged 15-64) had no, or had not completed primary schooling and only 23.3% had completed lower secondary education. It is inevitable that a large share of the Cambodian workforce is severely under-educated and that this problem will continue for decades to come. People have limited resources and low incentives to invest in and complete their education. 

 

Furthermore, even when people have access to traditional education, they often lack the life skills to sustain their position in the job market. To understand this issue we have to look at the history of Cambodia. From 1975 to 1979, the Khmer Rouge perpetrated one of the greatest genocides of the 20th century It is estimated that 1.5 to 3 million people died during the genocide and nearly 80% of the country’s teachers were killed, leading to an insufficient middle and old-age population and low quality education in Cambodia. 

 
Young women in rural areas are often left behind.

Due to family situations, young women and girls often have to drop out of school and go to work much earlier than those in urban areas. According to the UNESCO, in 2012 94% of out-of-school children were female.This leads to not only a lack of literacy skills, but also a shortage of basic life skills, such as; low self-confidence, poor problem-solving skills and even poor interpersonal skills. This prevents vulnerable women from obtaining and sustaining employment.

 

Encouraging youth to go to school and improving the quality of education here are the best ways to increase human capital, but unfortunately, the cost of education to a family is still too high. Although there are no school fees, parents still have to find the money for uniforms and school equipment, added to this many feel that they are losing essential family income as the child cannot go out to work during school hours. Consequently, balancing out education and financial burdens have become one of our top initiatives. We first focus on disadvantaged women, not only providing them with job opportunities, but also with a series of life skills training to help them progress to the next stage of their careers.

Life skills are vitally important

When the majority of a population are suffering from financial insecurity and have low incentives for education, it is extremely difficult for a country to develop. In order to ensure progress, we have to provide both jobs and training for them at the same time. When its citizens have jobs and access to education, the country will be able to raise its human capital and gradually progress.

 

However, Cambodia has yet to develop any form of life skills training.There is no definition of life skills training, no ongoing practice of it, no Training of Trainers (ToT), and there are no Key Performance Indicators (KPIs).Though some organizations and companies offer vocational training, very few think of helping their employees develop more practical life skills, such as communication skills, character building, and career counseling, etc. People agree that life skills (soft skills) are vitally important, but few people can implement the necessary training in this country.  

 
 
Our development
10 years
+

on-the-ground research and as well as a factory in Cambodia. 

60 kinds
+

of life skills training workshops have been developed and used

8 trainers
+

who have been  well-trained by Japan

consulting company.

Our relationship with locals

Through working on the ground in Cambodia for over 10 years, we have gained the trust of the village and other local organizations. In addition, our organization entered into Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation in 2016 and with the Ministry of Labour and Vocational Training in 2017. We dedicate ourselves to community development work through education.

 

 

 

 

When we established our Community Factory in 2008, we had only 14 employees. The factory was very small, made of bamboo and palm leaves and had only a few desks and sewing machines. Sales reached only $500 per month due to low productivity. One of our biggest challenges was encouraging the women to stay employed at our factory. Some women would leave to look for jobs with higher salaries, but most of them drifted from job to job and were not able to earn a sustainable income. 

 

Since then, we have started providing different kinds of training, such as basic literacy, financial management, nutrition courses and life skills training. At the same time, we have improved the quality of our products, manufacturing process and facilities. In 2011, we opened our first shop and in 2012 opened another. In 2016, we developed our new fashion brand "SUSU".

By incorporating training initiatives, our sales total in one month in 2006 can now be achieved in a single day.

Our revenue goes to life skills training and empowerment opportunities, which provides our producers with a sustainable salary as a means to support themselves and their families. 

 

Since March 2018, we are independent of the headquarters in Japan and launched our new organization and new brand  ‘SALASUSU'.

 

 

 

 

 

We cooperated with Japan Consulting Company to train our life skills trainers. Due to our trainers' concerted effort, the women working in our community factory can achieve a significant increase in life skills development in only 6 months. We see many positive behavioral changes in our producers after our training programs.

 

 

 

The history of our community factory 

Our life skills training development  

We have developed an economically and socially sustainable solution to prepare young women in Cambodia to embark on life's journey.

 

We passionately believe that our cutting-edge research, knowledge, and evidence are crucial in shaping the changes needed for our broader vision to be realized. Our efforts support women, society, and institutions to navigate the challenges ahead.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • TripAdvisor - White Circle
facebook-placeholder-for-locate-places-o
email-filled-closed-envelope.png
call-answer.png
​Wat Damnak Village,
Sangkat Salakamroeuk,  
Reap, Cambodia
info-cam@salasusu.com
+855 (0)63 967 896
Copyright @SALASUSU 2018 All rights reserved.